Nutrition Assessment for Infants and Toddlers

It is essential that even young children eat healthy and learn healthy eating habits, in order to

  • develop normally and reach their full growth potential

  • be healthy

  • avoid childhood health problems directly related to nutrition, such as iron-deficiency anemia, poor growth, obesity, and cavities

  • stay healthy into adulthood, by reducing the risk of chronic diseases such as high blood pressure, heart disease, diabetes mellitus, osteoporosis, and some forms of cancer.

Answering the questions in this guide will help you learn more about healthy eating habits for your child.

Click here to begin.

The number of calories each child needs varies with body size, activity level, and age. It is not necessary to count calories but more important to offer nutritious foods from each of the food groups every day.

Your child will get enough calories and all the necessary nutrients from an average daily diet that includes:

  • Grains (bread, cereal, rice, pasta) - six servings

  • Vegetables - 2-3 servings

  • Fruits - 2-3 servings

  • Dairy (milk, yogurt, cheese) - two servings

  • Meats (meat, poultry, fish, beans, nuts, eggs) - two servings

You will be asked a series of questions to see whether your child is getting the recommended number of servings from each of these food groups.

Click here to continue.

To continue reading this article, you must login.
  • Research health conditions
  • Check your symptoms
  • Prepare for a doctor's visit or test
  • Find the best treatments and procedures for you
  • Explore options for better nutrition and exercise
Learn more about the many benefits and features of joining Harvard Health Online »